1x1 trans 63b98a0c8568c08fd01a6946a147bca65eff26c8085f1ccb5330aafe0f0dcd15 Id module large c4bdca0c18d5032a0b8eb35a18ce1e9e98c500ccd0742d2b3eedff244605ac6d
1x1 cccccc 8d2493664331c713b7a80a676e990318570dda4eb08afc10d9e7d2580d5be66e

BMW Motorrad Motorsport

Munich, Germany, 14/09/2016, BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

Wins in England and Brazil

An overview of the weekend’s racing action

Racing on three continents: The BMW S 1000 RR riders were in action in Great Britain, Brazil and the USA last weekend.

Britain’s Oulton Park hosted the ninth round of the 2016 British Superbike Championship (BSB), in which there were three races in the Superbike class (BSB SBK). In race one, Richard Cooper (Buildbase BMW Motorrad) in sixth was the best-placed BMW rider. Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing) finished eighth, Lee Jackson (Buildbase BMW Motorrad) in tenth also made it into the top ten. In the second race, Jake Dixon (Royal Air Force Regular & Reserve) crossed the finish line in eighth place and as the best RR rider. Many-time BSB champion Ryuichi Kyionari, who will contest the remainder of the season on the BMW S 1000 RR of Smiths Racing BMW, finished tenth. In the third and final race of the weekend, four BMW riders finished in the top ten: Laverty was fourth, Cooper sixth, Jackson eighth and Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing) ninth. In the BSB SBK championship standings, Michael Laverty in seventh is now the best-placed BMW rider after nine race weekends. The Tyco BMW rider, who fell during the second race in Oulton Park, only very narrowly missed out on making it into the showdown of the top six riders.

The Superstock class (BSB STK) held its tenth race of the season – and a BMW rider claimed the top spot of the podium for the eighth time. A total of eight BMW S 1000 RRs finished in the top ten. It was a turbulent race, in which Joshua Elliott (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing) got his first win of the season. Second place went to Adam Jenkinson (NEI Motorsport), who celebrated his first podium position and rounded off the RR one-two result. The two rivals for the title Taylor Mackenzie (Buildbase BMW Motorrad) and Ian Hutchinson (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing) led the race until the final turn, when they fell in a close battle for the win. Mackenzie still leads the BSB STK championship standings with 178 points, followed by Hutchinson with 155 points.

In the SuperBike Series Brasil (BRSBK), Diego Pierluigi contested his first race on the BMW Motorrad Alex Barros Racing BMW S 1000 RR. The Argentinian was signed up by the team for the remaining races this year. It was a perfect debut: At the sixth round of the season in Brazilian Curitiba, he clinched pole position, set a new lap record and celebrated the win. His team-mate Sebastiano Zerbo finished fourth, Danilo Lewis (TecFil Racing Team) crossed the finish line in fifth place. Lewis still leads the championship standings.

After a two-month break, the MotoAmerica AMA/FIM North American Road Racing Series (AMA) also held its next round. Four BMW riders competed in the races in the New Jersey Motorsports Park. Cory West (Scheibe Racing) in 15th in the first race and his team-mate Steve Rapp in 12th in the second race had the best results.

The following provides an overview of all of the weekend’s results:

British Superbike Championship in Oulton Park

Superbike race 1:

6th Richard Cooper (Buildbase BMW Motorrad)
8th Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing)
10th Lee Jackson (Buildbase BMW Motorrad)
11th Jake Dixon (Royal Air Force Regular & Reserve)
16th Ryuichi Kiyonari (Smiths Racing BMW)
18th Jakub Smrz (Smiths Racing BMW)
DNF Alastair Seeley (Royal Air Force Regular & Reserve)
DNF Josh Wainwright (Lloyd & Jones/PR)
DNF Martin Jessopp (Ridersmotorcycles.com BMW)
DNF Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing)

Superbike race 2:

8th Jake Dixon
10th Ryuichi Kiyonari
11th Christian Iddon
12th Richard Cooper
15th Alastair Seeley
18th Jakub Smrz
24th Josh Wainwright
DNF Michael Laverty
DNF Lee Jackson

Superbike race 3:

4th Michael Laverty
6th Richard Cooper
8th Lee Jackson
9th Christian Iddon
13th Alastair Seeley
15th Ryuichi Kiyonari
19th Jakub Smrz
23rd Josh Wainwright
DNF Jake Dixon

Superstock race:

1st Joshua Elliott (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing)
2nd Adam Jenkinson (NEI Motorsport)
4th Michael Rutter (Bathams SMT)
5th Chrissy Rouse (CECS / Mission Racing)
6th Ashley Beech (Jones-Dorling Racing)
7th Alex Olsen (Power Projects Racing)
8th Dominic Usher (ONE7R / Formwise)
10th Leon Jeacock (Geo E Davies Racing)
11th Billy Mellor (Able Engineering)
12th Rob McNealy (McNealy Brown Ltd.)
13th Tom Tunstall (Integro)
14th Mike Booth (Active Copier Systems)
16th Barry Teasdale (Green Chem / Bob Henderson Racing)
19th Jesse Trayler (Linxcel) 20th Sam West (Water Lane Physio)
DNF Ian Hutchinson (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing)
DNF Taylor Mackenzie (Buildbase BMW Motorrad)

SuperBike Series Brasil in Curitiba

1st Diego Pierluigi (BMW Motorrad Alex Barros Racing) (+ fastest race lap)
4th Sebastiano Zerbo (BMW Motorrad Alex Barros Racing)
5th Danilo Lewis (TecFil Racing Team)
8th Diego Petrel (BMW Motorrad Alex Barros Racing)
10th Alex Borges (PRT – Pitico Racing Team)
19th Mauricio Paludete (Sport Plus Racing)
DNF Thomas da Silva (Cerciari Racing School)

MotoAmerica AMA/FIM North American Road Racing Series at the New Jersey Motorsports Park

Race 1:

15th Cory West (Scheibe Racing)
21st Jeremy Cook (Dead Presidents Racing)
22nd Marcin Biernacki (MB Motorsports Racing)
DNF Steve Rapp (Scheibe Racing)

Race 2:

12th Steve Rapp
13th Cory West
20th Marcin Biernacki
DNF Jeremy Cook