1x1 trans 63b98a0c8568c08fd01a6946a147bca65eff26c8085f1ccb5330aafe0f0dcd15 Id module large c4bdca0c18d5032a0b8eb35a18ce1e9e98c500ccd0742d2b3eedff244605ac6d
1x1 cccccc 8d2493664331c713b7a80a676e990318570dda4eb08afc10d9e7d2580d5be66e

BMW Motorrad Motorsport

Munich, Germany, 31/08/2016, BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

Successful on the world championship stage

An overview of the weekend’s racing action

As part of the “German Speedweek Oschersleben”, two world championships visited the Motorsport Arena Oschersleben at the weekend: the FIM Endurance World Championship (EWC) and the FIM Sidecar World Championship (SWC). The BMW Motorrad Motorsport racers had a successful weekend in both championships.

The “8 Hours EWC Oschersleben” marked the season finale of the 2016 Endurance World Championship. The Penz13.com BMW Motorrad team of team boss Rico Penzkofer celebrated its first podium in the Superbike class of the EWC (EWC SBK). With a commanding performance, Kenny Foray and Lukáš Pešek brought the number 13 BMW S 1000 RR home in third place.

The Sidecar World Championship held its penultimate event of the season in Oschersleben. In both races, the Finnish duo of Pekka Päivärinta/Kirsi Kainulainen (44-Racing) finished on the podium with their sidecar powered by a BMW S 1000 RR engine. With third and second place, they defended their championship lead: The Finnish pair now head into the finale in Donington Park, Britain on 17th September with a lead of 23 points.

The FIM CEV Superbike European Championship (CEV) held its fifth race weekend of the season in Portimão, Portugal. Maximilian Scheib finished in second place on the podium on his Targobank EasyRace SBK team RR in both races. The man from Chile is second in the championship standings; with three races to go, he trails the leader by 27 points.

The British Superbike Championship (BSB) stopped off in the tradition-steeped Cadwell Park at the weekend. In the Superstock class (BSB STK) race, the BMW S 1000 RR celebrated another one-two results. Tyco BMW rider Ian Hutchinson took the lead early on, controlled the race from the front and claimed his second win of the season ahead of second-placed Taylor Mackenzie (Buildbase BMW Motorrad). A total of eight RR riders crossed the finish line in the top ten spots. Mackenzie leads the championship with an advantage of 23 points over Hutchinson.

The BMW racers were also in action in the South African Super GP Champions Trophy (RSA SBK) at the weekend. The best-placed RR rider in Aldo Scribante was Lance Isaacs in fifth and sixth.

See the following for an overview of all of the weekend’s results:

FIM Endurance World Championship in Oschersleben

8 Hours EWC Oschersleben:

3rd #13 Penz13.com BMW Motorrad Team (Kenny Foray, Lukáš Pešek) (3rd EWC class)
7th #52 Lukoil BMW Motorrad CSEU (Fabrizio Lai, Julian Mayer, Roland Resch) (6th EWC class)
18th #6 msd-steeldesign powered by Motorex (Onno Bitter, Udo Wilhelm-Heine, Matthias Kettner) (8th STK class)
21st #90 Team LRP Poland (Bartlomiej Lewandowski, Marcin Walkowiak, Pawl Gorka) (13th EWC class)
23rd #56 GERT 56 HMT by RS speedbikes (Didier Grams, Rico Löwe, Sascha Hommel) (10th STK class)
DNF #48 Völpker NRT48 by Schubert-Motors (Bastien Mackels, Stefan Kerschbaumer, Matthieu Lussiana)
DNF #16 Arlows Racing Team (Sascha Schoder, Kjel Karthin, Malte Bigge)

FIM Sidecar World Championship in Oschersleben

Sprint Race:

3rd Pekka Päivärinta/Kirsi Kainulainen (44-Racing)
7th Mike Roscher/Anna Burkard (Roscher-Burkard Penz13 Racing)

Gold Race:

2nd Pekka Päivärinta/Kirsi Kainulainen
5th Mike Roscher/Anna Burkard

FIM CEV Superbike European Championship in Portimão

Race 1:

2nd Maximilian Scheib (Targobank EasyRace SBK Team)
6th Marcos Solorza (Targobank EasyRace SBK Team)
11th Roberto Blazquez (ARC Competición)

Race 2:

2nd Maximilian Scheib
5th Marcos Soloza
10th Roberto Blazquez

British Superbike Championship in Cadwell Park

Superbike race 1:

8th Richard Cooper (Buildbase BMW Motorrad)
9th Jake Dixon (Royal Air Force Regular & Reserve)
10th Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing)
15th Alastair Seeley (Royal Air Force Regular & Reserve)
16th Jakub Smrz (Smiths Racing BMW)
25th Josh Wainwright (Lloyd & Jones/PR)
DNF Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing)
DNF Lee Jackson (Buildbase BMW Motorrad)

Superbike race 2:

10th Jake Dixon
11th Lee Jackson
12th Michael Laverty
16th Alastair Seeley
18th Jakub Smrz
22nd Josh Wainwright
DNF Richard Cooper
DNF Christian Iddon

Superstock race:

1st Ian Hutchinson (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing) (+ fastest race lap)
2nd Taylor Mackenzie (Buildbase BMW Motorrad)
4th Adam Jenkinson (NEI Motorsport)
6th Joshua Elliott (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing)
7th Dominic Usher (ONE7R / Formwise)
8th Billy Mellor (Able Engineering)
9th Barry Teasdale (Green Chem / Bob Henderson Racing)
10th Ashley Beech (Jones-Dorling Racing)
12th Phil Crowe (PCR)
13th Rob McNealy (McNealy Brown Ltd.)
16th Tom Tunstall (Integro)
DNF Darren Ibertson (IMS AP Tyres Racing)
DNF Chrissy Rouse (CECS / Mission Racing)

South African SuperGP Champions Trophy in Aldo Scribante

Race 1:

5th Lance Isaacs (Lance Isaacs Racing)
10th Ronald Slamet (Bavarian Motorcycles & Danie Maritz Racing)
11th Garrick Vlok
14th Ricky Lee Weare
17th Jacques van Wyngaardt
18th Evert Stoffberg
19th Etienne Nelson
20th Ferdinand Frederick
21st Johnny Krieger (Full Throttle / AJ Venter Racing)
DNF Heinrich Rheeder

Race 2:

6th Lance Isaacs
10th Garrick Vlok
11th Ronald Slamet
14th Ricky Lee Weare
18th Jacques van Wyngaardt
19th Ferdinand Frederick
20th Etienne Nelson
21st Johnny Krieger
22nd Evert Stoffberg
DNF Heinrich Rheeder