1x1 trans 63b98a0c8568c08fd01a6946a147bca65eff26c8085f1ccb5330aafe0f0dcd15 Id module large c4bdca0c18d5032a0b8eb35a18ce1e9e98c500ccd0742d2b3eedff244605ac6d
1x1 cccccc 8d2493664331c713b7a80a676e990318570dda4eb08afc10d9e7d2580d5be66e

BMW Motorrad Motorsport

Munich, Germany, 13/07/2016, BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

The RR’s run of success continues

An overview of the weekend’s racing action

The BMW Motorrad Motorsport racers were in action on two continents last weekend and continued the run of success of the BMW S 1000 RR. In Snetterton in Great Britain, Ian Hutchinson, Michael Laverty and Michael Rutter got one win and two podium positions in the British Superbike Championship. The Superbike IDM stopped off in Zolder in Belgium. The haul: Three spots on the podium in both the Superbike class and the Superstock class.

Laguna Seca in California hosted the ninth round of the 2016 MOTUL FIM World Superbike Championship (WorldSBK). The best-placed BMW rider was once again Jordi Torres (Althea BMW Racing Team), who finished the two races in eighth and sixth. The injured Markus Reiterberger was represented by Raffaele De Rosa on the team’s second BMW S 1000 RR. The Italian, who normally contests the FIM Superstock 1000 Cup (STK1000) for the team, picked up his first championship points for finishing 11th in the second race. De Rosa retired from the first race. Karel Abraham (Milwaukee BMW) secured one 14th and one 12th place. His team-mate Joshua Brookes finished 13th in the first race, but fell in race two. As part of the WorldSBK, the penultimate round of the 2016 MotoAmerica AMA/FIM North American Road Racing Series (AMA) was also held in Laguna Seca.

The British Superbike Championship (BSB) raced in Snetterton at the weekend. In the Superbike class (BSB SBK), Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) finished third in the second race to clinch a podium position for the RR. His team-mate Ian Hutchinson celebrated a commanding win in the Superstock class (BSB STK) race. Michael Rutter (Bathams SMT), who had claimed pole position in practice, also made it onto the podium in third place. BMW rider Taylor MacKenzie (Buildbase BMW Motorrad) remains to be the leader of the BSB STK championship standings ahead of Hutchinson.

The Superbike IDM / Internationale Deutsche Motorradmeisterschaft stopped off in Zolder, Belgium, at the weekend. More than 40 riders took part in both races since the Netherlands Superbike Championship (SBK-N) was in action in addition to the Superbike (IDM SBK) and Superstock (IDM STK) classes.

In the Superbike class, Mathieu Gines finished second on the podium (second overall) in the first race at his Van Zon-Remeha-BMW team’s home event. The Frenchman fell in the second race, but was able to carry on with the race and brought his RR across the finish line fourth in the Superbike class (sixth overall). Belgian Bastien Mackels (Wilbers-BMW-Racing), for whom Zolder was also a home event, finished third on the SBK podium in both races (fourth and fifth overall). Gines is currently the best-placed BMW rider in the championship standings, in second place with a deficit of two points.

The BMW S 1000 RR also clinched three podium positions in the Superstock class. In the first race, Van Zon-Remeha BMW rider Jan Bühn finished second in the class ahead of his team-mate Pepijn Bijsterbosch in third. They finished sixth and seventh overall. In the second race, Bühn finished in third to make it onto the Superstock podium again (seventh overall). Van Zon-Remeha-BMW rider Marco Nekvasil had a heavy fall in the second free practice session and fractured his legs in several places.

The following provides an overview of all of the BMW riders’ results from last weekend:

MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship in Laguna Seca

Race 1:

8th Jordi Torres (Althea BMW Racing Team)
13th Joshua Brookes (Milwaukee BMW)
14th Karel Abraham (Milwaukee BMW)
DNF Raffaele De Rosa (Althea BMW Racing Team)

Race 2:

6th Jordi Torres
11th Raffaele De Rosa
12th Karel Abraham
DNF Joshua Brookes

British Superbike Championship in Snetterton

Superbike Race 1:

6th Jake Dixon (Briggs Equipment BMW)
10th Lee Jackson (Buildbase BMW Motorrad)
11th Jakub Smrz (Smiths Racing BMW)
14th Alastair Seeley (Royal Air Force Regular & Reserve)
16th Howie Mainwaring Smart (Smiths Racing BMW)
17th Martin Jessopp (Riders Motorcycles BMW)
19th Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing)
20th Josh Wainwright (Lloyd & Jones/PR)
DNF Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing)
DNF Richard Cooper (Buildbase BMW Motorrad)

Superbike Race 2:

3rd Michael Laverty
6th Christian Iddon
11th Richard Cooper
12th Jake Dixon
15th Lee Jackson
22nd Martin Jessopp
23rd Josh Wainwright
DNF Jakub Smrz
DNF Howie Mainwaring Smart
DNF Alastair Seeley

Superstock Race:

1st Ian Hutchinson (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing) (+ fastest race lap)
3rd Michael Rutter (Bathams SMT)
5th Adam Jenkinson (NEI Motorsport)
8th Leon Jeacock (Geo E Davies Racing)
9th Benjamin Godfrey (LED Solutions BMW)
13th Rob McNealy (McNealy Brown Ltd.)
16th Joshua Elliott (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing)
19th Barry Teasdale (Green Chem / Bob Henderson Racing)
21st Dominic Usher (ONE7R / Formwise)
DNF James Edwards (RTS Racing)
DNF Billy Mellor (Mellor Racing)
DNF Taylor MacKenzie (Buildbase BMW Motorrad)
DNF Chrissy Rouse (CECS / Mission Racing)

Superbike IDM / International German Championship in Zolder

Race 1:

2nd Mathieu Gines (Van Zon-Remeha-BMW) (2nd SBK class) (+ fastest race lap)
4th Bastien Mackels (Wilbers-BMW-Racing) (3rd SBK class)
5th Vincent Lonbois (Herpigny Motors BMW Motorrad Belux) (SBK-N)
6th Jan Bühn (Van Zon-Remeha-BMW) (2nd STK class)
7th Pepijn Bijsterbosch (Van Zon-Remeha-BMW) (3rd STK class)
9th Dominik Vincon (BMW Stilgenbauer) (4th STK class)
11th Sébastien Le Grelle (Herpigny Motors BMW Motorrad Belux) (SBK N)
16th Marc Neumann (Neumann Racing) (7th STK class)
17th Ireneusz Sikora (Wilbers-BMW-Racing) (6th SBK class)
19th Michal Filla (BMW Sikora Motorsport) (9th STK class)
22nd Arnaud Friedrich (penz13.com) (12th STK class)
25th Philipp Gengelbach (Gengelbach Motorsport) (14th STK class)
32nd Colin Rossi (Wilbers-BMW-Racing) (15th STK class)
33rd Sezgin Guney (SBK-N)
34th Björn Stuppi (Team Bergau) (16th STK class)
DNF Bartlomiej Wiczynski (BMW Sikora Motorsport)

Race 2:

5th Bastien Mackels (3rd SBK class)
6th Mathieu Gines (4th SBK class)
7th Jan Bühn (3rd STK class)
9th Pepijn Bijsterbosch (5th STK class)
10th Dominik Vincon (6th STK class)
13th Marc Neumann (8th STK class)
16th Ireneusz Sikora (5th SBK class)
18th Bartlomiej Wiczynski (11th STK class)
20th Philipp Gengelbach (13th STK class)
21st Arnaud Friedrich (14th STK class)
28th Colin Rossi (15th STK class)
30th Björn Stuppi (16th STK class)
31st Sezgin Guney (SBK-N)
DNF Vincent Lonbois
DNF Sébastien Le Grelle
DNF Michal Filla

MotoAmerica AMA/FIM North American Road Racing Series in Laguna Seca

Race 1:

DNS Steve Rapp (Scheibe Racing)
DNS Cory Call (San Jose BMW/Keigwins@theTrack)

Race 2:

12th Steve Rapp
16th Cory Call