1x1 trans 63b98a0c8568c08fd01a6946a147bca65eff26c8085f1ccb5330aafe0f0dcd15 Id module large c4bdca0c18d5032a0b8eb35a18ce1e9e98c500ccd0742d2b3eedff244605ac6d
1x1 cccccc 8d2493664331c713b7a80a676e990318570dda4eb08afc10d9e7d2580d5be66e

BMW Motorrad Motorsport

Munich, Germany, 09/12/2019, BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

Davey Todd wins the 2019 Race Trophy

‘Night of Trophies’ in Munich

The winner of the 2019 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy is Davey Todd. The 24-year-old was crowned champion in his first season in the International Road Racing Championship (IRRC) and was also unbeatable in this year’s BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. Second and third place went to Ilya Mikhalchik and Mathieu Gines.

BMW Motorrad Motorsport has now recognised last season’s most successful privateers. This year, for the first time, the coveted trophies were presented at a joint event with BMW M Motorsport – the ‘Night of Trophies’ at BMW Group Classic in Munich. For racers on four wheels, the best participants in the BMW Sports Trophy were honoured at the awards evening.

Roughly 200 guests joined BMW Group Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt and Dr. Markus Schramm, Head of BMW Motorrad, together with presenters Eve Scheer and Alexander Hofmann, as they started the evening by looking back on the highlights of the Customer Racing season in automobile and motorcycle racing. After that, the main contenders on two and four wheels, who once again delivered many victories and titles in 2019, took turns on the stage.

Fantastic season for the BMW Motorrad Motorsport customer teams

“Congratulations to Davey Todd on winning the 2019 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. He really impressed in his rookie season in the IRRC,” said Dr. Markus Schramm. “It was another fantastic season for our BMW Motorrad Motorsport customer teams. Our new BMW S 1000 RR made its debut this year – not only in the FIM Superbike World Championship, in which we exceeded our expectations with four podium finishes, but private BMW customer teams were also successful with the new RR and its predecessor. They dominated in various international and national championships and also set the pace at major road racing events. Our customer teams celebrated titles, race wins and podiums all over the world. We are very proud of that, and our customers are the best ambassadors for BMW Motorrad that we could wish for.”

The BMW Motorrad Race Trophy was launched in 2014 and was held for the sixth time this year. This season, 120 private BMW riders entered the Race Trophy. They competed for 90 different BMW teams in 25 championships around the world, claiming 9 titles, 92 race wins and 258 podium finishes with the BMW S 1000 RR.

The top 30 competitors in this year’s Race Trophy were recognised at the ‘Night of Trophies’ in Munich. The trophies for the most successful private BMW riders of the 2019 season were presented by Tom Sykes from the BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team. There were prize money and other bonuses, such as for winning a title. BMW Motorrad Motorsport once again provided a total prize purse of over € 100,000, which was shared between this year’s best participants.

From rookie to champion: Davey Todd

Todd contested his first season in the International Road Racing Championship on a BMW S 1000 RR run by Wepol Racing by Team penz13 in 2019. The rookie won both races at the opening round at Hengelo. He then bagged another brace of wins at round two at Imatra. Todd continued his success story over the remainder of the season and wrapped up the title at the penultimate race weekend in Hořice – with another two race wins. Todd scored maximum points in nine of the twelve races that made up this season’s IRRC. This proved sufficient for him to take overall victory in the 2019 Race Trophy – and saw him also crowned ‘Rookie of the Year’ in the Race Trophy.

However, Todd was not only successful in the IRRC. He also enjoyed great success at major international road racing events. He finished third in the Superstock class at the North West 200 and runner-up at the Ulster Grand Prix, again in the Superstock race.

“I’m very happy to have won the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy, and also proud”, said Todd. “The competition is very high as so many really strong BMW riders from different championships around the world take part, so it’s great to be the best of them, even more as I was a newcomer. I had a great first season in the International Road Racing Championship. Honestly, I did not expect to be able get so many wins and podiums when I headed to the first round, as in the IRRC there are so many very experienced and fast road racers. But I had a strong bike and an experienced team around me, so we were able to set the pace in the series from the first race on – and that enabled me also to claim strong results in other road racing events like the podiums at the North West 200 and the Ulster Grand Prix. I want to thank everybody who made this possible.”

Todd won the 2019 Race Trophy with 475.27 points. Second-placed Ukrainian rider Mikhalchik picked up his 460.00 Race Trophy points with the alpha Racing-Van-Zon-BMW team in the International German Championship (IDM), in which he was crowned champion for the second year in a row. Third-placed Frenchman Gines won the title in the French Superbike Championship (FSBK) with the Tecmas Racing Team. His results in that series earned him 442.15 Race Trophy points.

Champions on the BMW S 1000 RR

As well as Todd, Mikhalchik and Gines, a further six BMW racers won titles in their respective series in 2019. Here is an overview of all of this year’s BMW champions:

- Davey Todd – Wepol Racing by Team penz13 – International Road Racing Championship
- Peter Hickman – Smiths Racing Team – BMW Road Race Challenge
- Karel Hanika – Fany Gastro BMW Motorrad by Mercury Racing – Alpe Adria International Motorcycle Championship
- Ilya Mikhalchik – alpha Racing-Van-Zon-BMW – International German Championship
- Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman – Onexox TKKR SAG Team – Asia Road Racing Championship
- Mathieu Gines – Tecmas Racing Team – French Superbike Championship
- Ben Young – Ben Young Racing – Canadian Superbike Championship
- Farid Badrul – HORIZON Racing Team – Malaysia Superbike Championship Superbike class
- Sharulnizam Ramli – FTA Liqui Moly Racing Team – Malaysia Superbike Championship Superstock class