1x1 trans 63b98a0c8568c08fd01a6946a147bca65eff26c8085f1ccb5330aafe0f0dcd15 Id module large c4bdca0c18d5032a0b8eb35a18ce1e9e98c500ccd0742d2b3eedff244605ac6d
1x1 cccccc 8d2493664331c713b7a80a676e990318570dda4eb08afc10d9e7d2580d5be66e

BMW Motorrad Motorsport

Macau, China, 20/11/2018, BMW Road Race Challenge

Victory at the legendary Macau Grand Prix

Peter Hickman wins at the “Guia Circuit”

BMW road racer Peter Hickman lived up to his billing as favourite on the streets of Macau. On Saturday, he took victory in the legendary Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix on a BMW S 1000 RR run by the Aspire-Ho by Bathams Racing team. This is the third time that Hickman has taken victory in the motorcycle classic at the famous “Guia Circuit”. You can find all Macau results in an overview below.

The motorcycle race on the narrow 6.120-kilometre track through the urban canyons of Macau was held for the 52nd time this year. Hickman secured pole position in qualifying, underlining his intent to continue his winning run at the “Guia Circuit”.

Hickman initially lost the lead at the start of the race, but the Brit soon regained his advantage. He led the field on a high-speed pursuit through the narrow streets, until the race was red flagged with just three laps remaining, presenting Hickman with victory. Second place went to his team-mate Michael Rutter, who was riding a Honda in Macau. Martin Jessopp (Ducati) finished third.

Danny Webb (MGM by Penz13) was also in contention for a podium spot on his RR and eventually took fourth place. David Johnson (PR Racing) was seventh. Derek Sheils (MGM by Penz13) followed directly behind in eighth while rookie Davey Todd (PuraGlobe Syntainics Racing Oil by Penz13) finished his first Macau Grand Prix in ninth position.

Hickman’s successful season

Victory in Macau is the perfect end to a successful season for Hickman, who won the Superstock race and the prestigious Senior TT at the Isle of Man Tourist Trophy in June. He also claimed race wins and podiums at the North West 200 and the Ulster Grand Prix. Hickman also made it into the British Superbike Championship (BSB) Showdown as one of the top-six riders over the course of the season.

Peter Hickman:
“It’s fantastic for me and the team, and to give our sponsors Aspire-Ho a win here is absolutely brilliant. Michael (Rutter) made a much better start than me, which is usual. He’s always good off the line. I was quite happy just to sit there following him. Once I was in the lead I tried to get away a bit. Then I heard Martin (Jessopp) coming closer and after the third lap I got my head down a little bit to see if I can have a little bit of a gap and if I could manage it. This is basically what I did. I managed to win every international road race this year, so that’s pretty spectacular. And I was in the BSB Showdown as well – so it’s been a really good year.”

Results Macau Grand Prix:

52nd Macau Grand Prix:

1st Peter Hickman (Aspire-Ho by Bathams Racing) (+ fastest race lap)
4th Danny Webb (MGM by Penz13)
7th David Johnson (PR Racing)
8th Derek Sheils (MGM by Penz13)
9th Davey Todd (PuraGlobe Syntainics Racing Oil by Penz13)
11th Marek Červený (Wepol Racing)
12th Sam West (PRL/OHA Motorsport)
13th Michael Sweeney (Martin Jones Racing)
16th Phillip Crowe (Handtrans JCR Racing)
17th Erno Kostamoo (Markka Racing by Penz13)
18th Rob Hodson (JGH Racing)
21st Daley Mathison (Wepol Racing)
24th Craig Neve (C N Racing)
DNF Davy Morgan (DM71)
DNF Didier Grams (G&G Motorsport by BMW Motorrad)