1x1 trans 63b98a0c8568c08fd01a6946a147bca65eff26c8085f1ccb5330aafe0f0dcd15 Id module large c4bdca0c18d5032a0b8eb35a18ce1e9e98c500ccd0742d2b3eedff244605ac6d
1x1 cccccc 8d2493664331c713b7a80a676e990318570dda4eb08afc10d9e7d2580d5be66e

BMW Motorrad Motorsport

Malaysia and Australia, 22/03/2017, BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

Malaysian season kicks off with two victories

BMW riders are successful in Sepang

The worldwide BMW Motorrad Motorsport family can celebrate the first victories of the 2017 season: at the curtain raiser of the Malaysia Superbike Championship (MSC) at the Sepang International Circuit, BMW racers claimed wins in both the Superbike and the Superstock class.

Muhammad Farid Badrul Hisam won race two of the Superbike class (MSC SBK), while Nasarudin Mat Yusop finished first and second in the Superstock class (MSC STK) races. The weekend also saw the second round of the Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) take place at Wakefield Park. You can find an overview of all results of the weekend below.

Malaysia Superbike Championship at Sepang, Malaysia

The 2017 Malaysia Superbike Championship (MSC) consists of five rounds and this weekend, the season opener was held at Sepang International Circuit near Kuala Lumpur. It was a successful start for the BMW Motorrad Motorsport racers, with two wins and a further podium finish.

In the Superbike class (MSC SBK), Muhammad Farid Badrul Hisam (HKM Times Bike Racing Team) was victorious in the second of the two races. He took the win on his BMW HP4 after an exciting battle at the very front. It was the perfect comeback after he had failed to finish the first race. Linggam Rammoo (Sport Rider Racing Team) also finished both races in the top 10: he was seventh and ninth respectively.

In the Superstock class (MSC STK), Nasarudin Mat Yusop (BMW Motorrad Malaysia Team) continued his streak of success from previous years. He celebrated the win in race one on his BMW S 1000 RR and finished the following race second on the podium. Dominic Chang (Sport Rider Racing Team) from Singapore, also a familiar face in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy, retired in race one but was eighth in race two.

The second round of the 2017 MSC will be held from 28th to 30th April at Sepang.

Australian Superbike Championship at Wakefield Park, Australia

After the season opener three weeks ago at Phillip Island, the Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) teams and riders met at Wakefield Park near Goulburn for the second round of 2017. In difficult conditions, Troy Guenther of the NextGen Motorsports team collected more points towards the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. He was 18th in race one and finished 12th in race two.

“We had a tough weekend with changeable weather conditions causing difficulty for all the riders and teams,” said Guenther. “We worked well to find a variety of setups for the BMW S 1000 RR for wet and dry conditions. We were able to take many positives from this weekend at Wakefield. Our qualifying was really strong, getting our first top 10 for both race starts. Our race pace was consistent and good enough to put us inside the top 10 with some of the seasoned Superbike riders in the ASBK Championship. We now have a clear direction with the bike and where we can improve ahead of the next round at Winton. A big thanks to the Next Gen Motorsports team for their ongoing support and faith in me.”

Round three will be held from 28th to 30th April in Winton.

Results Malaysia Superbike Championship at Sepang:

Superbike class:

Race 1:

7th Linggam Rammoo (Sport Rider Racing Team)
11th Md. Masoni Pitri
DNF Muhammad Farid Badrul Hisam (HKM Times Bike Racing Team)

Race 2:

1st Muhammad Farid Badrul Hisam (+ fastest race lap)
9th Linggam Rammoo
12th Md. Masoni Pitri

Superstock class:

Race 1:

1st Nasarudin Mat Yusop (BMW Motorrad Malaysia Team) (+ fastest race lap)
DNF Dominic Chang (Sports Rider Racing Team)
DNF Muhammad Ikhwan (Fasttrottle Motorsports)

Race 2:

2nd Nasarudin Mat Yusop
8th Dominic Chang DNF Muhammad Ikhwan

Results Australian Superbike Championship at Wakefield Park:

Race 1:

18th Troy Guenther (NextGen Motorsports Team)

Race 2:

12th Troy Guenther