1x1 trans 63b98a0c8568c08fd01a6946a147bca65eff26c8085f1ccb5330aafe0f0dcd15 Id module large c4bdca0c18d5032a0b8eb35a18ce1e9e98c500ccd0742d2b3eedff244605ac6d
1x1 cccccc 8d2493664331c713b7a80a676e990318570dda4eb08afc10d9e7d2580d5be66e

BMW Motorrad Motorsport

Munich, Germany, 14/12/2016, BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

And the winner is…

Jordan Szoke wins the 2016 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

20 race series, 27 championship classes, 24 countries, six continents, 84 racetracks, 116 race events, 280 races, one Race Trophy – and one winner: Jordan Szoke won the 2016 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. Second place went to Vincent Lonbois, Michal Prášek finished in third place. The award ceremony was part of the 2016 BMW Motorrad Motorsport Season Finale in Munich.

Szoke picked up a total of 450.00 Race Trophy points in the Canadian Superbike Championship (CSBK). On his Mopar Express Lane BMW Superbike team BMW S 1000 RR, the Canadian won all seven races held in the CSBK this year – and started each race from pole position. With this perfect season, Szoke clinched the CSBK championship title for the second time in a row, his 11th overall.

“The win means a lot to me”

“To be the winner of the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy really means a lot to me,” said Szoke. “Last year I stood here on the stage as runner-up, and it is just a fantastic feeling to now have secured the first place. It was one of my targets to win the Race Trophy this year. But, of course, sometimes things do not always go as planned – this makes it even more special that we had such a great season and that we really managed to get that win. It makes me very proud to successfully represent Canada in this unique worldwide competition.”

“The Race Trophy helps to bring international awareness to our series and also shows how good the racing is in Canada,” Szoke continued. “The Race Trophy is a great concept that unites us BMW racers all around the world. It is great to be a part of it. And the extra support through the prize money and the bonuses is an awesome help for us riders.”

Szoke received a cash prize of 20,000 euros for his Race Trophy victory. See our separate news item for a detailed interview with the Canadian.

Road Racer Lonbois in second place

Second-placed Vincent Lonbois was the dominant man in the International Road Racing Championship (IRRC) in 2016. In only his second year in this championship the Belgian celebrated a magnificent title win on the Herpigny Motors BMW Motorrad Belux BMW S 1000 RR. He finished on the podium in all 12 races of this IRRC season – and racked up no fewer than eight wins. Lonbois picked up a total of 447.36 Race Trophy points and received a cash prize of 15,000 euros for second place.

“I am delighted with this position,” said Lonbois. “Our series, the IRRC, was new to the Race Trophy this season. So, we took part for the first time and then to finish second is just great!”

Fifth in 2015, now third: Michal Prášek

Third place on the Race Trophy podium and a cash prize of 12,500 euros went to Michal Prášek, the champion of the Superstock class in the Alpe Adria Road Racing Championship (AARR STK). Prášek’s season tally is also more than impressive. He also finished all ten races of the season on the podium; he stood on the top step of the podium as the winner five times. This saw him and his Rohac and Feijta motoracing team successfully defend the title in the AARR STK before the end of the season. In the Race Trophy Prášek picked up a total of 435.60 points with his successes.

“I am very happy. I finished fifth last year and now I did even better in third place,” said Prášek, who celebrated this success in style with his team. “It was a fantastic season. We had ten races in the Alpe Adria, and I won five of those. And I finished on the podium in the other races. It really was fantastic.”

“We are proud of this family”

The 15 best placed riders were honoured in Munich. A total prize fund of 100,000 euros was divided between them. In the third season of the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy, 127 BMW riders from 25 countries on six continents took part in this unique competition. They competed for 83 different teams in national and international race series around the world.

“The Race Trophy keeps growing from year to year: in 2016, we had twice as many participants as we did two years ago in 2014, when we introduced the Race Trophy - and again a growth of 25 per cent compared to last year,” said Heiner Faust, Executive Vice President Sales and Marketing BMW Motorrad. “2016 was another action packed and exciting racing season and a very successful one! The BMW Motorrad Motorsport family can celebrate no fewer than nine championship titles. In world championships and other international and national championships, our racers have claimed 89 wins and a total of 263 podium finishes this season.”

“We are very proud of this strong and successful racing family and I want to thank you for these great results,” Faust addressed the BMW racers. “With your achievements, you helped to consolidate the outstanding position of BMW Motorrad in national and international racing. You demonstrated that our BMW S 1000 RR is one of the most competitive bikes all around the globe.”

Awards for nine championship-winning teams

As part of the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy, a bonus was also awarded to the teams and riders who won the title in their respective championship. This acknowledged the dedicated work of the teams, without whom the successes of the BMW riders around the world would not be possible. Each Race Trophy team that won a title this season received a cheque for 7,500 euros; the rider received a cash prize of 2,500 euros.

Nine title-winning teams were honoured in Munich: Team Cherot Moto Sport and Benjamin Colliaux (French European Bikes Championship), Rohac and Fejta Motoracing Team and Michal Prášek (Alpe Adria Road Racing Championship Superstock class), IVR BMW Motorrad CSEU and Lukáš Pešek (Alpe Adria Road Racing Championship Superbike class), Herpigny Motors BMW Motorrad Belux and Vincent Lonbois (International Road Racing Championship), Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing and Ian Hutchinson (BMW Combined Road Race Challenge), Mopar Express Lane BMW Superbike Team and Jordan Szoke (Canadian Superbike Championship), Buildbase BMW Motorrad and Taylor Mackenzie (British Superbike Championship Superstock class), Althea BMW Racing Team and Raffaele De Rosa (FIM Superstock 1000 Cup) and 44-Racing with Pekka Päivärinta and Kirsi Kainulainen (FIM Sidecar World Championship).

This season also saw the introduction of the new “Race Finisher Bonus”. A bonus of 500 euros was awarded to all Race Trophy participants who finished all advertised races of their respective championship class in better than last place and picked up more than 100 Race Trophy points, without finishing in the top 15 of the Race Trophy classification.

Post-season is pre-season: The preparations for the 2017 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy 2017 are underway and online registration is already possible.