1x1 trans 63b98a0c8568c08fd01a6946a147bca65eff26c8085f1ccb5330aafe0f0dcd15 Id module large c4bdca0c18d5032a0b8eb35a18ce1e9e98c500ccd0742d2b3eedff244605ac6d
1x1 cccccc 8d2493664331c713b7a80a676e990318570dda4eb08afc10d9e7d2580d5be66e

BMW Motorrad Motorsport

Munich, Germany, 07/12/2016, BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

Titles, wins and records: the 2016 Race Trophy

Successes achieved by 2016 Race Trophy participants

The scoring period for the 2016 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy ended with the final races in the SuperBike Series Brasil in São Paulo and the Malaysia Superbike Championship in Sepang at the weekend. This season, the 127 participants contested a total of 282 races in 27 different championship classes, in 24 countries on six continents. The most successful Race Trophy riders will be honoured this Friday at the 2016 BMW Motorrad Motorsport Season Finale in Munich.

There has been plenty of success to celebrate this season. The BMW Motorrad Motorsport racers boast an impressive record in the 27 championship classes that counted towards the Race Trophy: nine titles, 89 race wins and 283 podium finishes. We look back on the biggest successes.

One unforgettable success is obviously the historic world title won by Pekka Päivärinta and Kirsi Kainulainen of the 44-Racing team in the FIM World Sidecar Championship. Their victory continues BMW Motorrad’s great tradition in sidecar racing. The 44-Racing machine was powered by a BMW S 1000 RR engine. Another prestigious international title came courtesy of the Althea BMW Racing Team and Raffaele De Rosa, who won the FIM Superstock 1000 Cup in a thrilling finale.

This season’s other BMW champions are: the Cherot Moto Sport team and Benjamin Colliaux (French European Bikes Championship), Rohac and Fejta motoracing team with rider Michal Prášek (Alpe Adria Road Racing Championship Superstock class), IVR BMW Motorrad CSEU and Lukáš Pešek (Alpe Adria Road Racing Championship Superbike class), Herpigny Motors BMW Motorrad Belux and Vincent Lonbois (International Road Racing Championship), Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing and Ian Hutchinson (BMW Combined Road Race Challenge), Mopar Express Lane BMW Superbike Team and Jordan Szoke (Canadian Superbike Championship), and Buildbase BMW Motorrad and Taylor Mackenzie (British Superbike Championship Superstock class).

The bike to beat

The BMW S 1000 RR was the bike to beat in many championships this year. In the 12 races held in the Superstock class of the British Superbike Championship, victory went to a BMW rider on ten occasions. RR riders were also a regular feature on the podium in the Superbike class of the BSB. BMW racers dominated in the Alpe Adria Road Racing Championship and the French European Bikes Championship. Young Chilean Maximilian Scheib (Targobank EasyRace SBK Team) also caught the eye. He only failed to finish on the podium once in the FIM CEV Superbike European Championship, claiming three wins, six second places and one third.

Jordan Szoke produced another perfect season in the 2016 Canadian Superbike Championship, winning all seven races and claiming every pole position and fastest lap. The BMW riders were also in a league of their own in the International Road Racing Championship IRRC. They monopolised the podium in every race, with Vincent Lonbois, Sébastien Le Grelle and Didier Grams ending the season in first, second and third in the championship.

Victories in iconic road races

Keywords road racing: BMW riders enjoyed unforgettable success in this season’s major international road races. It began with the North West 200 in May. Ian Hutchinson set a new lap record on his Tyco BMW S 100 RR on his way to victory in the Superstock race. The Superbike race produced a one-two-three for the RR. This time it was Michael Dunlop (Hawk Racing) who won – again with a new lap record. Hutchinson and Michael Rutter finished second and third.

In June, Hutchinson and Dunlop continued their pursuit of victories and records at the famous Isle of Man Tourist Trophy. Hutchinson won the Superstock TT with a new lap record, Dunlop triumphed in the Superbike TT and the prestigious Senior TT – setting new records on the way. In the Superbike TT, Dunlop became the first rider in the history of the Isle of Man TT to set a sub 17-minute lap time. He went even faster in the Senior TT, setting an historic new lap record of 16:53.929 minutes. One month later, in July, Dunlop won every race at the Southern 100 on the Isle of Man.

Record chaser Hutchinson raised the bar even higher: the Tyco BMW rider became the “fastest road racer in the world” in August. He set a new world record at the Ulster Grand Prix with an average speed of 134.089 mph (215.705 km/h). Hutchinson won three races at the Ulster Grand Prix. The icing on the cake at the end of the road racing season came at the Macau Grand Prix in November: Peter Hickman, Michael Rutter and Martin Jessopp finished a sensational one-two-three on the BMW S 1000 RR, repeating last year’s impressive achievement.

Titles, wins and records: there is plenty for the BMW Motorrad Motorsport community to celebrate when it assembles at the Season Finale in Munich on Friday.